Not So Liveblog: Budget 2009 – Losing Bill’s Virginity

Woo! It’s Budget day …

What? I’ve handed over my passport to those in control, in the hope that I can get into the UK (more details if I am successful) … so instead of stewing while I wait, I may as well geek out a little.

This feels like a budget of yore, when you used to stock up on petrol, cigarettes and booze the day before as you had no freakin’ idea what was going to be hiked up the next day. Little has been released as it were under a Labour government, but you can bet that the tax cuts National campaigned almost rabidly on, will have disappeared.

It’s Bill English’s first budget and he starts with a small stumble as he forgets process, which the Speaker carefully corrects.

14.06
Pre-amble: The economy is fucked. Everywhere. If this all goes to shit, it’s not our fault. But it is the fault of the folks before us.

14.16
[While B.E. sings his party’s praises, just thought I’d add – if my visa comes through, I’m leaving town two days later to go to Singapore. So if you’re in Wellington, just be aware that I may, in a couple of weeks say that I’ll be parking up at Hope Bros. to drink …]

14.18
“redesign the legislation to allow quick and efficient decisions to allow development … overseen by Rodney Hide …” Trans: Dear Environment, prepare the lube, you may be getting fucked soon.

14.30
It’s all very well saying “we’ve allocated x to insure y” but it’s not terribly impressive when they are pretty much just maintaining what’s already been done in the past … I’m bored already.

14.43
Tax cuts for 2010 and 2011 are postponed until “economic conditions are improved”. Told you.

14.48
“This is the first budget on the road to recovery”. I hope you’re right, dude, otherwise you know we’re going to roll out this sound bite next year if it all goes tits up.

And so ends yet another boring budget (except for the suspension of the Cullen fund contributions, which was always on the cards no matter what government but 10 years is a flippin long time). Tune in next week when we hear …

2 Responses to “Not So Liveblog: Budget 2009 – Losing Bill’s Virginity”

  1. I thank you for selflessly sitting through such tediousness in order to give us a report.

    xxx

Leave a Reply

