Silent Running

Yes, it’s a post! Twitter has taken over (I seem to be moving slowly away from Facebook. I’d rather not use it, but everyone seems to be situated there – I wish everyone would move to Twitter instead), but there’s other stuff too …

Immigration.

I don’t want to be wrongly accused of anything by immigration authorities so I’ve been keeping my woes to myself. There are a few things involved …

One: I work in the arts industry. The centre of the arts industry is London. I had some good things just starting over there – I would have liked to see how far I could get (as it all felt like my career was taking off).

Two: I am deeply in love. And the love of my life works in the arts and lives in London – the centre of the arts industry.

Three: I no longer live in London as my working holiday visa has expired.

So now my days are spent doing applications to get my way back there. There are very few options available to me, but I’m pursuing every one I can … at the moment, every week heralds a new story announcing how immigration controls in the UK are being tightened, how the visa fees are going up, newly invented taxes I am going to face as a ‘economic migrant’ and amount of information about myself that I am going to have to give up on a single ID card (which the government will probably lose by forgetting a laptop on the train, or something … again).

Yes, I really love him. I must do to put myself through this.

In the meantime, I can’t help but ponder on the use of borders … I turn to you, internets, to explain the use of this function to me. Governments collect taxes and use them to create property rights and occasionally provide social services.

Fine.

So borders are areas that define where the taxes are collected and are spent accordingly.

Fine.

So what do immigration controls achieve?

Genuinely, I do not know. The more I think about them, the less I understand them. It stops people who want to work and pay taxes from coming into the country and I’m sure it creates population pressure as once people are in they become afraid to leave in case they can’t get back in again. Does someone out there have an answer as to why this use of a border is a good thing?

2 Responses to “Silent Running”

  1. Charlotte just got a working visa to move to NZ. It cost her £45.

    A friend just had his UK visa renewal turned down on a technicality. It cost him £750. And will cost another £750 to reapply.

    Oh, and the new “immigrant fees” they’re setting up to create a fund for us to pay for ourselves? Um, how about the fact that we pay the same taxes as everyone else but without full access to using their benefits? On top of the extortionate and ever-increasing price of getting in here…

    At uni just due to the timing of when I needed to do a paper to finish my degree I ended up doing one entirely devoted to the concept of nationhood and have been entirely flabbergasted by the system ever since. In many ways it seems the whole idea of passports and borders is to safeguard wealth and maintain inequity and economic exploitation.

  2. Oh you wanted a reason of why it’s a GOOD thing: I like the pretty stamps in my passport. And I like my lifestyle of safeguarded materialism.

Leave a Reply

