Comfort Food

I should be talking about the impending elections both in the US and NZ or the angst I’m feeling as I still don’t know who to vote for (how close am I to ticking Alliance? Yes Mark Cleary, laugh it up, I can hear you from here) …

Instead I’m curious to hear what your comfort food is. For instance, the nights are growing long here and last night it snowed … well sleet mostly but there was snow all over London, except for in the East where I live (typical). On nights like that, there’s nothing like tomato and basil soup with a loaf of garlic bread, or a roast chicken or eating mashed potatoes straight out of the pot you mashed them in.

And then, there’s the real comfort food, the sort of food you go to when you need a hug. And tonight I’ve discovered that meal to be a Nasi Lemak with an ice Milo (or, if I could get it, a Milo Dinosaur … mmm …).

A close second would be a packet of Toffee Pops.

Yes.

A whole packet.

And no, I’m not sharing.

What’s yours?

4 Responses to “Comfort Food”

  1. Pasta with roast cherry tomatoes, pinenuts and garlic.
    Or just salt and vinegar crisps and a bowl of maggie onion soup dip…

  2. Macaroni Cheese, lots of bacon, lots of cheese.

  3. mmm. Hangi. Or should that be discomfort food as I will gorge myself on it… When I’m feeling poorly I dream of boil up or tomato soup (Watties!!) with cheese.

    And I can’t go past chippies…

    I’m so hungry now ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. hmm… soupy chicken (the way you or mum cook it) or BBq (masala lamb chops straight off the grill with an ice cold beer) … or the best of them all for those bummer days – bangers & mash ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

