Daily Cereal: Beginnings – Ep 12.

Here we are, back again, in a room, in a house, in Miramar.

Three people, all conscious, all very, very still..
.
.

Jenn: I … thank you for helping me and I think I can handle it from here …

She spies the radio on the floor and follows the trail to the axe and Maya.

Jenn: Yes, thank you. You’ve been very helpful. Could you do me one more favour?

Maya: Sure.

Jenn: I need you to call the community constable.

Maya: Ok.

Jenn: Let him know that I’m here.

Maya: Ok.

Jenn: And that I’m sorry I’ve missed dinner, I will be home soon.

.

Maya: Um, ok, no worries. Are you sure that’s everything?

Jenn: Yep. Thanks.

Maya leaves the room.Jenn, keeping her eye on where Maya has gone, slowly gets up off the bed. She keeps an ear towards the door.

Jenn: How long?

Nic: What?

Jenn: How long have I been out?

Nic: Um … I don’t know? Three, four hours?

Jenn: Got a cellphone?

Nic: Yeah.

Jenn: Have you got it on you?

Nic: Um, yeah.

He tries to get his phone out with his hand-cuffed hand but it’s at too awkward an angle.

Nic: Can you (take these)?

Jenn: No.

He uses his other hand to try and pulls the phone out.

Nic: Here.

Jenn: Thanks.

Jenn heads out the door.

Nic: Hey!

Jenn: Shh, what?

Nic: What about me?

Jenn: What about you?

Nic: You can’t leave me here.

Jenn: I’ll come back.

Jenn walks out the door and creeps along to the top of the stairs. Maya stands at the bottom with the phone.

Maya: The line’s busy.

Jenn: Ok. Well I’m sure that it will be fine, I’ll just head along now.

Jenn takes a step down the stairs.

Nic: Don’t leave me!

Maya: Are you just going to leave him here with me?

Maya takes a step up the stairs.

Maya: A dangerous criminal like him?

Jenn: I’ll probably need back up and I can’t really do it on my own – I need another officer.

Maya: I can’t help.

Jenn: No it’s fine really.

Maya: I’m quite strong.

Jenn: Yes, you must be, but there’s a procedure.

Maya: You can’t just leave me here with him.

There’s a knock at the door.

.

.

The knocking starts again at the door.

We know who it is, but you will have to wait until tomorrow to see what happens next …

© Sonal Patel, 2007

Leave a Reply

